Put a Penny in Your Loafer and Make a Wish…

Back in 1980, a little book called “The Preppy Handbook” came out. I was 9, and somehow convinced my parents to fork over the $3.95 cover price for a copy. Something made me think it was a necessary read. As I just am flipping through it now, all bent and dog-eared, it’s all coming back to me. It seemed the ideal lifestyle to aspire to. Apparently, I thought I was going to come into some money at some point. Age unappropriateness aside, I think what dazzled me were the fashions –  different enough from our good, old St. John’s navy blue parochial school uniforms; but tame enough to skip out of the house in to have a good time. Put pink and green together (cha cha!) and there’s bound to be some trouble! Well, now there’s a sequel coming out. Really, how have we gone without one? Perhaps that will be what I need to ease into 40 with grace and style…

(Thanks, Daily Beast!)

1. www.etsy.com/view_listing.php?listing_id=44046723
2. www.theblackdog.com/product.php?productid=16615&cat=307&page=3
3. www.etsy.com/view_listing.php?listing_id=43138815
4. www.etsy.com/view_listing.php?ref=sr_list_13&listing_id=40175760&ga_search_query=plaid&ga_search_type=user_shop_ttt_id_7428838
5. www.freshdeal.com/deal/2072/sporto-original-duck-boot-10-off.html
6. www.vineyardvines.com/product__79254_____14680_13051

One response to “Put a Penny in Your Loafer and Make a Wish…

  1. ha! thanks for including my plaid preppy dress…I loved the Preppy Handbook…it made me love my thrift store cashmere even more. I didn’t know a new one was comin’ out…I gotta have that one too.
    tressie

Leave a comment